Shrewsbury Senior Citizens Bowling League 2017

League Secretary &
Welfare Officer




Vice Chairman

Results Secretary
Chris Kershaw Dave Kibbler Ed Jackson  Margaret Cooper Ed Jackson Chris Kershaw
01743 368037 01743 873496       01743 359122     01743 873710 01743 368037
monklands@chriskershaw.plus.com                                                                                                                       marg.cooper@my-inbox.net                                                                   

All 2017 League results have been entered



2018 Pre-Season Meeting – Monday 19th March


This will be held at Meole Brace BC starting at 2:00pm. As all the documentation for the 2018 season will be handed out at this meeting it is expected that all clubs will be represented. The Agenda for the meeting together with the minutes of the previous meeting can be viewed by clicking on the relevant two boxes in the green area to your left.


Due to requests from some clubs, the 2018 Fixture Lists will now be published on March 3rd, so any club who intends to withdraw/add a team must contact the Fixtures Secretary no later than 2nd March.  







Notice of an EGM to Install a New Chairman


In between AGM,s the only way the installation of a League Officer can constitutionally take place is at an EGM. Notice is therefore given that an EGM will be held under Item 3 of the Agenda for the Pre-Season Meeting on 19 March. Combining the two meetings obviously saves time and will be so much less hassle than conducting two separate meetings. 






Clubs Looking For Players


Any clubs who are looking for new players may put a short announcement below. Just email the details to the League Secretary but keep them brief please.


Pontesbury: we are looking for experienced Senior players to join and strengthen our first division squad. Playing on the Nags Head green, this is a great opportunity for the right players looking for a challenge to join a successful and thriving bowling club with strong ambitions. If interested please contact Barry Challinor at barrychallinor@btinternet.com or on 07714 249151







 Details for the 2018 competition are set out below:


Teams interested in entering should email Nick Stacey at: nick.stacey@hotmail.co.uk (phone 01952 612462) and closing date for entries is 4th April


Entry Fee is £10 per team by cheque payable to 'Shropshire Senior Citizens Crown Green Bowling Association' and posted to Nick Stacey, 5 Albert Street, St Georges, Telford, TF2 9AR


Match fee of £1.50 per team to be collected at the end of the season


Preliminary round to be held on Tuesday 24th April, all matches starting at 1:30pm


The Rules can be viewed by clicking on the relevant box in the green area to your left 





Dave Kibbler Stands Down as League Chairman


Due to health issues, Dave has had no option but to relinquish his position as our Chairman with immediate effect and I am sure like myself you will be very sorry to learn of his decision and wish him all the best for the future. Since becoming our Chairman in 2013, taking over from Jack Jones, Dave has worked tirelessly for the League and successfully conducted all our meetings with his firm but fair manner.


Obviously a replacement needs to be found with the 2018 season just around the corner and I am delighted to announce that I as Secretary am nominating Roger Whitfield of Battlefield BC for the position of Chairman and Margaret Cooper as Treasurer will be his seconder. Any club can submit their own nomination should they so wish, but all nominations must be received by the Secretary no later than 28 February.