Burton and District Bowling League 2020

President Chairman Association Secretary Association Treasurer
Alan Eccleshall Martin Drury Mrs Chris Johnson Malcolm Cheese
1 Bridgeside, Stretton 28 Beech Lane, Stretton  21 Fairham Road, Stretton 80 Nelson Street, Winshill
Burton-on-Trent DE13 0EH Burton-on-Trent DE13 0DX  Burton-on-Trent DE13 0BS Burton-on-Trent DE15 0DE
Tel 01283 563752 - Mob 07949 868255 Tel 01283 544072 - Mob 07831 169754  Tel 01283 547764 Tel 01283 536588 - Mob 07963 829735
  Email martin.drury@bes-online.com  Email burtonbowlscommittee@gmail.com Email malcolm.cheese@sky.com  
Champion of Champions BES

Division 1 Alexander Accountancy

Division 2 Trent Trophies

Division 3 Burton Bowls Centre

Division 4 Lamb Inn

League Averages Home

League Averages Away

League Averages Combined Alpine Taxis

Charity Cup Washlands Sports Club

Individual Merit BES

Doubles Merit

W.R. Cooper Cup

Welcome to Burton & District Crown Green Bowling Association Website


Important Dates:


Latest information:

Wed Apr 14th 2021

Following the recent vote by clubs, Burton League will remain at 12 a side for the 2021 season.

The following new rule will apply for this season only and shall replace League rule 8.1 and 8.2:

Teams are permitted to play 2 players twice provided:

i) This is for the same team
ii) It is stipulated at the start of the match i.e. when the cards are drawn.
iii) The player(s) involved doesn't play in consecutive ends i.e. if a player plays 1st ends, he/she cannot play again until 3rd ends etc.


Fri Mar 26th 2021

Clubs wishing to transfer players should download a transfer form. When it is completed by both clubs it should be emailed to burtonbowlscommittee@gmail.com


Sat Oct 3rd

Junior Bonus Ball 2020 week twenty five winning number 2 - Malcolm Cheese.

Fri Aug 21st

A new tab has been added Charity Cup Finals Results. Results from 1995 to 2017 have now been uploaded.


Tue Apr 14th

Bonus ball fundraiser 2020 for Junior bowls in the Burton/South Derbyshire area.

Cost is £25 for the season. Starting on 18th April and running for 25 weeks until 3rd October. Prize £25 per week.

For payment details please contact Jamie Southern or Malcolm Cheese.

Rollover on 50-59.

Allocated numbers can be found on the tab Juniors bonus ball 2020.

Tue Mar 24th

New Tab inserted BCGBA Documents Download for all latest information from County and BCGBA

Tue Mar 24th

New update on Goverment Guidance on what should be closed including out door pitches under BCGBA documents download tab

Tue Mar 24th

BCGBA Go Membership Details now under Documents Download BCGBA News Letter March 2020

Thu Mar 19th

In line with BCGBA guidelines, all local leagues are postponed indefinitely.

Unfortunately, due to the uncertainty of the situation and constantly changing Government guidelines, it is impossible to say when/if leagues will start and in what format.

We will attempt to keep clubs informed and, if Government guidelines and time permit, we will try and organise something accordingly.

Club secretaries will soon receive a communication from the Derbyshire County Secretary in respect of fees, insurance and general information.

Please bear with us as we try and navigate through these unprecedented circumstances.

Fri Mar 13th

Coronavirus - The latest information regarding Coronavirus from the BCGBA www.sportengland.org/news/coronavirus-information-sector

Wed Feb 26th

Fixtures are now live!!

Sat Feb 22nd

Calendar for 2020 inserted.

Sun Feb 9th

There is a safegaurding training course being held at Ashbourne Bowls Club on Saturday 14th March 2020.

There are two sessions on the day either morning 10am to 1pm or afternoon 2pm to 5pm.

Course fee is £7.50 per person and refreshments will be provided.

To book a place please contact David Brown (Safegaurding/DBS officer) on 07710 778843 - email db4davidbrown@hotmail.com

Sat Feb 1st

 Meet Your Committee

Role  Club Years Service  Achievements Favoured Bowls  Role Club  Years Service  Achievements  Favoured Bowls 

Alan Eccleshall President

Belvedere  31     Robert Sweet Committee Member Netherseal 6    

Martin Drury Chairman

Stretton Anglesey  8    Taylor Express Andrew Thompson Committee Member Stretton Anglesey 2    

Steve Broadhurst  Vice Chairman

Winshill  29    Henselite Conquest  Matthew Kelly-Walley Commitee Member  Belvedere   Burton Individual Merit Winner 2017  
Malcolm Cheese Treasurer Henhurst 38 2019 Vets Individual Merit Winner   Drakes Pride James Southern Committee Member Netherseal 1    
Ian Wallis Secretary Barton 11 2016 Burton Overall Home Average Winner  Polaris Specials Simon Medcalf Committee Member Washlands 0   Polaris Specials 
Paul Chamberlain Committee Member  Stretton Anglesey 15 1991 All England Winner  Drakes Pride  David Lees Committee Member  Belmont 0   Metrolux Piranhas 

Fri Jan 31st


Name  Transfering From  Transfering To BCGBA Number Date Compelted
Matthew Milsom Netherseal Stretton Anglesey  DY 09669 03/03/2020
Simon Litherland Chellaston  Burton Cons Club  DY 00427 08/03/2020
Ed Wallis Stretton Anglesey Winshill DY 10860 19/03/2020
Matthew Seaborn Washlands Winshill DY 04392 19/03/2020
Darrell Matkin Stretton BC Winshill DY 11564 19/03/2020
Jason Nettel Netherseal Belvedere DY 02963 19/03/2020
Harritt Nettel Netherseal Belvedere LAD 60470 19/03/2020
Dave Matkin Stretton Marstons DY 11661 19/03/2020
Mark Anslow Belmont Services Newhall Social DY 10139 23/04/2020
Ami Insley Belvedere Newhall Social LAD 49306 23/04/2020

Fri Jan 31st


          Name Transfering From Transfering To BCBGA Number Date Completed
Margaret Penlington Woodville NewInn  Belmont LAD 03448 09/11/2019 
Cheryl Fowkes Woodville New Inn Belmont LAD 30419 09/11/2019
Dawn Gardner Woodville New Inn Belmont LAD 73256 09/11/2019
Jim Gardner Woodville New Inn Belmont DY 01741 09/11/2019
Morgan Baldwin Woodville New Inn Belmont DY 13777 09/11/2019
James Gardner Woodville New Inn Bemont DY 12510 09/11/2019
Simon Hill Woodville New Inn Bemont DY 13400 09/11/2019
Paul Baldwin Woodville New Inn Belmont DY 07164 09/11/2019
Julia Dawkins Woodville New Inn Belmont LAD 73255 09/11/2019
Sue Gardner Woodville New Inn Belmont LAD 03908 09/11/2019
John Anderton Woodville New Inn Belmont DY 14482 09/11/2019
Sue Andrews Woodville New Inn Belmont LAD 03582 09/11/2019
Steve Butcher Woodville New Inn Belmont DY 12862 09/11/2019
Mark Gardner Washlands Woodville New Inn DY 12277 12/01/2020
Lewis Belcher Belvedere Stretton Anglesey  DY 11254  21/01/2020 
Matt Farmer  Eureka Park  Woodville New Inn  DY 10279 21/01/2020 
Natasha Bouffard Stapenhill Henhurst LAD 65686 27/01/2020
Russell Mosley Stretton  Stretton Anglesey DY 03666 27/01/2020
Louis Cox Stapenhill Woodville New Inn DY 11605 31/01/2020
Adam Dickerson Derby Co-op  Newhall Social  DY 07771  02/02/2020 
Mick Adams Lamb Inn Washlands DY 10828  04/02/2020
David Sinclair Derby Co-Op Washlands DY 13605 18/02/2020
David Sinclair Washlands Stretton DY 13605 21/02/2020
Felix Abba  Derby Co-Op Alvaston & Boulton  DY 08735  22/02/2020
Tom Bowring Belvedere Barton DY 08185 24/02/2020
Tony Preston Stretton Rolleston DY 13324 24/02/2020
Tony Pickford Stretton Rolleston DY 07597 24/02/2020
Ian Coxall Woodvile New Inn Belmont DY 14219 24/02/2020