South Derbyshire Crown Green Bowling Association 2019


President Chairman Secretary Fixture Secretary Treasurer
Cliff Robinson Calvin Jackson John McNeilly Peter Harper Neil Desmond
9 Knoll Close, Littleover 3 Athlone Close, Chaddesden 38 Fairway Crescent, Allestree 2 Saundersfoot Way, Oakwood, 58 Rosedale Avenue, Alvaston 

Tel: 01332 519521

Mob: 07757 923902

Tel: 01332 380563

Mob: 07794 660937

Tel: 01332 559105

Mob: 07771 630629

Tel: 01332 678218  

Tel: 01332 755674

Mob: 07970 844106


Secretary / Competition Secretary Report   -   Season 2017

 Ladies & Gentlemen

 This is my last report as secretary of this Association and I have really enjoyed my 21 years in office. The season was marred by having too many un-played games again and we must hope that the proposed altered structure and new rules will alleviate this problem. The use of the MB Bowling results web site has greatly reduced my work and thanks go to all who have entered results into it.

 Individual Merit

The holder, David May of Stretton Anglesey, went out in the first round this year when he lost to Nigel Iliff on Spondon Derby green. Nigel then lost to Keith Widdowson who qualified for the finals along with Robert Treece. On Spondon’s other green David Chambers (Littleover) and Craig Pearson (Rowditch) got through. Brian Smith and Anglesey teammate Ian Brown came through a strong field at Rykneld. The qualifiers at Derby Co-op were the Rowditch pair, Ben Ryder and Dean Shaw.

The finals were at Allestree and the Anglesey pair drew each other with Ian Brown beating Brian Smith. Dean Shaw accounted for Rob Treece. The other two games were Rowditch / Littleover pairings and Craig and Ben beat Keith Widdowson and David Chambers.

Ben went on to win his first merit with a 21-9 victory over Craig and then a 21-15 win in a good final against Ian who had beaten Dean.

David Chambers was the one to miss out in the playoffs for the County Finals qualifiers.

At the County finals Ian went the furthest of our qualifiers, losing in the quarter finals but the event was won by Rowditch’s Ed Furniss who had qualified through the Belper league heat.

 Ray Hanson Doubles 

The Ray Hanson doubles was held at Alvaston & Boulton and was won by Ed Furniss and Ben Ryder of Rowditch, both having excellent seasons as the Merit report shows. They beat teammates Mark and Luke Seale in the final. The losing semi-finalists were Nigel Iliff & Brian Woodcock and Andy Milsom & Adam Stubbs both of Rolls Royce.

Midland Masters

This was held at Rykneld and our qualifiers were Craig Pearson, Richard Gill and Mick Bacon. Craig had a successful day at the finals day, losing in the quarter final.

Charity Cup

 The Charity Cup was at Rowditch and extra publicity and prizes attracted a good entry of 38 players. Colin Belcher of Belvedere won the title with Neil Ratcliffe of Belper Meadows the beaten finalist and winner of the prize for the best performance from a player from division two or below. Josh Furniss of Rowditch got to round two and won the prize for the best junior.

 Main Leagues

 Stretton Anglesey retained the Dean Burton premier league title this year by two points from Rolls Royce. Alvaston & Boulton finished third. Washlands and Stretton Anglesey A were the bottom two.

Stretton took division one from Alvaston & Boulton A with Marehay A and King’s Newton at the bottom.

Belvedere A continued their march through the divisions by winning division two from Netherseal A. Swadlincote Catholics A and Belper Pottery were at the foot of this table.

The Alvaston & Boulton sponsored division three was won by Washlands A with Horsley A in second place. Rykneld A and Denby were the bottom two.

Etwall A won division five in which the seven teams played each other four times with Spondon A as the runners-up.

Dickie Cup

 The handicaps were increased in the Dickie Cup this season and we had many close games but still an all premier final.

Stretton Anglesey and Marehay both won their preliminary round games by six shots against Sitwell Arms and Brackens respectively.

In round one the two eventual finalists both had close calls. Rolls Royce 1beat Ashbourne by one shot and Swadlincote Catholics had a tie with King’s Newton before winning the replay. Belvedere went out to their A team by four shots.

Washlands A put out the holders, Stretton Anglesey, with a 203-202 win in round two and Rolls Royce 1 had another tight game with a five shot win over Belvedere A. Rowditch A, with a massive 87 start beat Marehay by eight shots.

There were two more one shot victories in round three. Both were all premier affairs with Netherseal beating Rowditch 191-190 and Swadlincote Catholics taking out Alvaston & Boulton 190-189. Rowditch A used their handicap to triumph again but they did not have to give Washlands A quite so many. 

Both semi-finals were close with Rolls Royce 1 beating Netherseal 197-191 and Swadlincote Catholics winning 216-214 against Rowditch A. 

Rolls Royce were always in control of the final and won 191-164.

 Champion of Champions

 Stretton Anglesey retained the Champion of Champions ( for the winners of the main leagues ) which was played at Littleover.

Preliminary Round     -     Stretton Anglesey (0)  beat Washlands A (55)

Semi Finals      -       Stretton (25) beat Belvedere A (40) , Stretton Anglesey (0)  beat Etwall A (70)

FINAL             -            Stretton Anglesey (0)  beat Stretton (25)

Floodlit League

 This year the floodlit league was reorganized with 50 teams in six divisions of six and two of seven.

In division one Alvaston & Boulton took the title from last year’s winners Stapenhill1.

Henhurst 1 won division two with Brackens 1 as runners-up.

Swadlincote Catholics and Newhall Social headed division three.

Sitwell Arms 1 took division four from Derby  Co-op.

Marstons, on their re-entry, were division five champions with Washlands 2  as runners-up.

Hazelwood were the winners of division six ahead of Belper Pottery.

Alvaston & Boulton 2 led the seven team division seven and they had the best record in the league, losing only one game. Breadsall 1 were second.

Chellaston won a tight division eight by only three shots from Rykneld 2 with Rolleston 2 also close.

King’s Newton won the floodlit cup final beating Littleover 3Swadlincote Catholics 195-152 in the final. Alv. & Boulton 2 and Marehay 1were the losing semi finalists.

 Individual Successes

 Individual successes by players in our Association in competitions not run by ourselves include Louie Furniss ( Junior Waterloo ), Ed Furniss ( Derbyshire Merit ), Terry Bosworth ( Derbyshire Vets Merit ) and Aiden Richardson ( Derbyshire Junior Merit )


 I would like to finish by thanking everyone who has helped me and the Association in any way during season 2017, all of the Officers and the Executive committee and all of the Club secretaries and Club sponsors. Special thanks go to Calvin and to Neil Desmond who both stepped into office on the committee in the midst of the season.

Graham Jackson