Sponsored by

Stubbs Parkin & South Whitchurch Bowling League 2018


President: Peter Williams 2018 Chairman: George Edge
Results Secretary
Mike Beckett
01948 661930


Assistant Secretary
John Mitchell
01948 667378


Alison Hine
01948 880052


Competition Secretary
Phil Scott
01829 250365
Peter Lawrence

Tue Aug 21st 22 results from 27 Matches
Thu Aug 23rd 19 Matches
Wed Aug 22nd 8 Cup Games


Important Dates:


Wed Aug 22nd 19:00 Jubilee Doubles and Consolation Quarter Finals
Sat Sep 1st 18:00 League Doubles, Venue TBC
Sun Sep 2nd 10:00 Shropshire Veterans Inter League  - Hosts Whitchurch League.
Wed Sep 5th 19:00 Jubilee Doubles Semi Finals
Sat Sep 8th 18:30 Jubilee Doubles Finals
Sun Sep 9th 10:00 League Individual Merit @ Audlem   Entries to JAMIE before the 2nd September please.
Wed Sep 19th 19:00 Shropshire Star and Presidents Cup Quarter Finals
Sun Sep 23rd 11:00 League Mixed Doubles Venue TBC
Wed Sep 26th 19:00 Shropshire Star and Presidents Cup Semi Finals
Sat Oct 6th 18:00 Shropshire Star and Presidents Cup Finals
Fri Oct 19th 19:00 Annual Dinner and Presentation of Prizes with Disco.

Latest information:

Wed Aug 15th
Shropshire Highways have just announced that Soulton Road Wem (B5065) will be closed from 3 September 2018 for 6 weeks in order to facilitate the repairs to the bridge by Soulton Hall. There will be quite a lengthy diversion in place if you get as far as Prees Green so depending on whether people are travelling from the extreme North of the county / Cheshire / Market Drayton  to Wem it is advisable to plan an alternative route. 

Wed Aug 1st

Nantwich Barrony can now play their remaining home games on a Tuesday. Their captain will be getting in touch with the remaing teams in division 3 that are due to play them on a Thursday. If the captain agrees then that match will be changed to the Tuesday of that week. Next year their green will be available on a Tuesday so all their home games will be on the correct match day. 

Sat Jul 28th

Winner of the Under 12 merit was Wayd Pawlowski Wem USC who beat Eloise Fenwick in the final and the Under 12 Consolation winner was Zoe Fenwick Calverhall who beat Louise Ralphs in the final.

Sat Jul 14th

Winner of the Under 18 Merit retaining his title was Josh Warner AWC with Wayd Pawlowski Wem USC the runner up.

Sun Jul 1st

Clarification regarding Tuesdays matches due to some teams asking for an additional date:
It is expected that next Tuesday night’s fixtures will be played on their due date.  However, in view of the England football match, games may exceptionally be slipped to the Wednesday night SO LONG AS BOTH TEAM CAPTAINS AGREE.   If both teams wish to change the date but are unable to play on the Wednesday evening then they are to explain their reasons to Mike Beckett, the Fixtures Secretary. If agreement is given by him to the fixture being played on another date then all games must be completed no later than Sunday 8 July.’

Sat Jun 30th

Winner of today''s St Alkmunds Trophy was Mike Reeves amd Deanna Simcock from AWC who beat Carl Preece - WemUSC and Paul Higgs - District in a closely contested final 21-20. Thanks to the District Club for hosting and providing refreshments.

St Alkmunds

Fri Jun 29th

Due to the England football team playing their next World Cup match on Tuesday night it has been agreed that you can play next Tuesday''s game on Wednesday instead.

Mon Jun 11th

Whitchurch A were winners of yesterday''s SCGBA Senior Inter League competition by winning all their group matches and then beating Tanners in the Final. Our thanks go to the 2 clubs for hosting at the last minute. Bridgewater for the Group stages and District for the Finals. Full results may be viewed Here


Winners   Man of the Match


Sun May 27th

Winner of today''s Judith Purcell Mixed Doubles were Paul Bradley and Donna Bennett from Malpas Sports who beat their fellow team members Julian Goodwin and Gaynor Smith 21-5 in the Final.
The Consolation was won by Phil Jones and Tina Ralph from Nantwich Park Road who beat Carl Beech and Mandy Tydd from Bridgewater 21-7 in the Final.

Sat May 26th

Winner of the Under 21 Merit held at Audlem was Dan Beeston Hanmer who beat Josh Warner AWC in the final. And Will Stokes Bridgewater won the Consolation beating Edward Proudlove AWC.

Sat May 12th

Winner of the Under 15 Merit was Josh Warner AWC who beat Louise Ralphs AWC 21-7 in final.

Wed Apr 25th

Reminder for Captains of Rule 4.6:

Postponed or adjourned matches the Results Secretary must be informed immediately.

Sun Apr 22nd

Winner of the Ladies Merit was Donna Bennett Malpas Sports who beat Amanda Hare Joules 21-6 in the final at Whixall. Entries 12 Ladies.

Mon Apr 16th

Unfortunately Malpas have had to withdraw their C team from Division 6 due to shortage of players.
Their results from last week have been deleted and their fixtures will now become a Bye.

Sun Apr 8th

Winner of the Norman Ford Classic was Ben Hinton District who beat Adrian Bromfield Prees in the final 21-18.Ben becomes the first junior to lift the trophy no mean feat in itself after beating Louis Moult, Gary Whitehall, Colleen Harding and Adrian Bromfied.


Ben  Benonly finalist



Fri Mar 30th

The District front green is in a rather distressed condition at the moment and is partially roped off. The Club Committee feel it would be foolish to use it any more than is necessary so have decided that the A and B will play on the back green and the C & D will remain on the roped off front green which will still be plenty big enough. 


Tue Mar 27th

The Norman Ford Classic is in a week and there is some spaces available on a first come first entered basis, All places now taken , There is also a reserve list .

Wed Feb 28th

DBS Club Welfare - Safeguarding Officers

The DBS checks will take place at the District Club on Wednesday 14 March starting 7.30 pm.

Anyone needing their DBS to be checked should phone Alison Hine on 01948 880052 to arrange an appointment for them to be seen. Appointments will be at 10 minute intervals.
Anyone unable to make that night will have to travel to an alternative location in Shropshire (Mid-Shropshire or further south) as we have only the one date available for North Shropshire.

It is essential that all Clubs have a fully DBS checked Welfare Officers by the start of the season.

For further information about Safeguarding Officers see notes on theSafeguarding Ofiicers Link.

Wed Feb 21st

Jubilee Doubles Entries can now be done by logging in, and clubs can withdraw from Shropshire Star/Presidents Cup by Unticking themselves, Closing date for entries is 31st March

Tue Feb 20th

2018 fixtures are now published. (They have changed since yesterday due to leaving out a new team from Prees)
Divisions 1 to 4 start on Tue April 3rd and Division 5 and 6 on Thur 5th April.
Due to with withdrawal of Cheswardine B and Ruabon Leaving the League but with the addition of the new Prees team division 7 wil now have 12 teams and will start on Thur 19th April.
The first 2 weeks fixtures of their second half will be the reverse of the last 2 weeks of the first half to avoid a mid week break.

Tue Jan 9th

For a list of all the 2018 SCGBA County Competition Dates see link on left.