Wallasey Crown Green Bowling Association 2018

 President / Competition Secretary: Keith Etches: Tel - 07759 956998

Chairman: Mike Costall: Tel -  0151 639 2866 

Vice Chairman / League Fixture Secretary: Colin Jones: Tel -  07930 934876

Secretary / Treasurer: Peter Dodd; Tel -  07908 974768

Executive Committee:

Graham Bunting, Bill Dow, Mary Fishwick, Peter Fishwick,

John Joy, Andy Wainwright, Tommy Walker

All 2018 League results have been entered



Supporting Wallasey C.G.B.A. Bowls



Linda Howard is the new Registrar for Merseyside County CGBA and will now issue all BCGBA Membership Cards.

Any requests for a BCGBA Membership Card can be sent to Linda at her address detailed on the BCGBA Membership

Application Form, which can be downloaded from the Merseyside County website and accompanied by a cheque

payable to Merseyside CCGBA. The costs remain at £10 for new bowlers and £3 for replacement cards.

Linda can be contacted via email at registrar4mccgba@gmail.com.




Monday December 10th

2018 League Winners 

Division One Champions: New Brighton Queens Royal

Paul Saville receives the Division One Trophy from Association Chairman, Mike Costall at our Annual General Meeting



Division Two Champions: Sacred Heart

Barry Smith receives the Division Two Trophy from Association Chairman, Mike Costall at our Annual General Meeting



Division Three Champions: Upton Victory Hall 'B'

Peter Rattray receives the Division Three Trophy from Association Chairman, Mike Costall at our Annual General Meeting



Wednesday December 5th

Wallasey CGBA 2019 Season

Our Calendar of Events for the 2019 Season has now been completed and can be seen by accessing the Calendar of Events link in the table at the left of this page. All our Cup Finals have been highlighted in red, our Federation National League matches are highlighted in blue and our Individual Competition dates are highlighted in green. After a difficult season in 2018 when for one reason or another, we were only able to stage 3 Individual Competitions, we have set our dates early for 2019 and can only hope other Associations or indeed Clubs will work their own Competitions around our dates. Unfortunately with so many competitions available for players to enter in Wirral & Merseyside there will obviously be occasions when dates will clash but our Competition dates will not alter from those published today.

The new rules regarding Cup Finals agreed at our AGM last week have now been updated and our Constitutional Laws can be accessed from the table at the left of this page.

If you are reading this website on your I Pad, Tablet or Phone then the information above is accessed via the Other Pages link at the top of the home page on those devices.


Thursday November 29th

Annual General Meeting

Last night's Annual General Meeting at Manor Road Bowling Club was, as usual, well attended with only one Club not being represented on the night. After the all the usual reports from the Secretary, Competition Secretary and Treasurer had been given, the Notices of Motion section of the meeting saw a proposed new rule regarding the Presidents Cup and Wallasey News Cup being played on a six home - six away basis being heavily defeated by the delegates present.

The following New Cup Rules were all accepted by the delegates.

New Cup Rules

New Rule 4.

All team competition cup finals shall take place on a date determined prior to the start of each season by the Executive Committee and shall not be changed.

New Rule 5.

Clubs unable to field a team for any final must notify the Association Secretary as soon as possible but at least 48 hours prior to the scheduled final. Failure to notify the Association secretary at least 48 hours prior to the final will render the club involved liable for all for costs incurred by the Association such as printing costs, referee’s fees etc. and an additional fine of £25. Such clubs will also forfeit the trophy & any prize monies due.

New rule 6.

If whilst a team competition final is being played more than 2 players are missing the team concerned shall be deemed to be unable to raise a team as per rule 5.  Teams attending finals with missing players shall then be fined at a rate of £10 per player (Maximum £20) in addition to any fines imposed as per the above rule 5.

A proposal by Manor Road Bowling Club, seconded by Harrison Park Bowling Club, to change our Regular League Points Scoring system was heavily defeated by the delegates present.

New Brighton Quarry Vikings Bowling Club applied to enter a 'D' team into the Association for the 2019 season and this was unanimously accepted by the delegates present. This team will play in Division Three next season.

Wallasey Royal British Legion Bowling Club have now changed their Team Name but they will still be playing at Withens Lane. The team will now be known as Withens Lane Bowling Club and the old Wallasey Royal British Legion Club will now be called the Withens Lane Social Club.

Dave Gilmore is the new Secretary of Manor Road Bowling Club having taken over from Brian Hampson.

Andy Wainwright was elected on to the Executive Committee and all the present Officers and Executive Committee members were re-elected en bloc after an excellent speech and proposal by one of our Life Members, Rick Keeley.

Our Chairman Mike Costall reminded the delegates present that it is easy to criticise our Officers and Committee members but there is a right way to go about voicing any complaints members may have about things that they maybe do not like or agree with and any complaints will be addressed in the proper manner if received in the proper manner.


Monday November 19th

Winter Flyers

On another lovely sunny morning in Birkenhead Park Tixall's Jamie Fitzpatrick had his first win in this series of the Winter Flyers beating Joe Edwards in the final.

Fitzpatrick played very well throughout the morning and he dominated the scoring in all his matches. In the quarter finals he fairly comfortably beat Ledsham Royal's Adam Hormbrey and then he followed this with a win over Cammell Laird's Peter Holian in the semi final. Meanwhile Edwards in his quarter final game had a real struggle to get through against Hawksbury's John Jones before getting the better of Mike Coupe over from Preston. Initially the final was fairly tight but once Fitzpatrick got into his stride Edwards found it difficult to cope and in the end Fitzpatrick had a reasonably straightforward 21-13 victory.


Quarter Finals: P. Holian 21, J. Joy 19; J. Fitzpatrick 21, A. Hormbrey 13; M. Coupe 21, E. Dutton 16; J. Edwards 21, J. Jones 19.  Semi Finals: Fitzpatrick 21, Holian 15; Edwards 21, Coupe 10.  Final: Fitzpatrick 21, Edwards 13.

(Report courtesy of Bill Atkinson)


Sunday November 18th

News Years Eve at Manor Road Conservative Club


Although the above Disco, Fun & Games night on News Years at Manor Road Conservative Club is not a specific Charity Fund raising event, any money raised on the night will all go to Charity. Tickets can be bought from behind the bar at Manor Road Conservative Club or you can contact Les Henderson for tickets.