Runcorn & District Bowling League 2018

Competition Secretary Chairman Secretary & Treasurer

Mr Ray Worthington

Tel No: 576 306

 Mr Bob Watson

Tel No: 589 180

Mr Pat Crowe

Tel No: 574 689 

Tue Jun 26th 15 Matches
Thu Jun 21st 1 Cup Games

Welcome to the Runcorn & District Bowling League Website.


Click here for link direct into allbutacross



Click here for link direct into Frodsham.


This site has only recently been made.

All Clubs/Teams will be given their codes to enter their own results for this season.






Important Dates:


Fri Nov 30th 19:30

League Presentation Night 2018



Halton Royal British Legion


Tickets priced at £ 4.00

and will be available from Pat Crowe


Latest information:

Fri Jun 22nd

Norley Make it a Hat-trick of Murphy Cup victories.

Last Thursday saw the final of the Murphy Cup held at Grapes Inn on Halton Road. Norley going for their third win in succession took on Hazel Pear, and what a final it turned out to be with Norley the victors by four chalks. Peter Illidge got the points moving for Norley with a 21-07 win followed by Mark Winnington also 21-07. However Hazel Pear fought back Paul Drinkwater and Phil Wingfield both winning 21-13. With the second four going on to the green the handicap had been reduced to 13 calks in favour of Hazel Pear. Fifth on the green for Norley Barry Ellams saw the lead reduced to one chalk after a 21-09 win, but Hazel Pear come racing back with a 21-11 victory for Connell Redmond. The seventh game was a very tight affair that saw Fred Worrall victorious 21-20 against Jimmy O’Brien, the last game on the green saw some excellent bowling from both players but the day belonged to Norley’s Chris Coral with a 21-07 win leaving Norley the winners by a mere four chalks. League Secretary Pat Crowe thanked Grapes Inn for the use of their facilities and both teams for a fantastic final. Pat was very disappointed by the lack of support for the leagues senior competition with just a handful of spectators showing up.

On the league front Norley continue with their fine form with a 159-127 victory over second placed Pavilions A, Barry Ellams 21-07 led the way for Norley and best reply for Pavilions John Briggs 21-16. Third placed Castle completed a full house 126-168 victory at Helsby A, best winner on the night Elle Winnington 21-07. Hazel Pear extended their lead on the teams below them with a superb 168-76 win against Helsby C with no fewer than four players winning in single figures, leading the way Jimmy O’Brien 21-04 Connell Redmond 21-07, Joe Tomkinson and Adele Maddison both 21-09, that win made it a bad week for the Helsby teams.

Best win in section one last week Graham Adams (Halton RBL A) 21-03.

Section two table toppers Kingsley A travelled to take on War Memorial and came away with a 112-151 victory, leading the way for Kingsley Mick Cartwright 21-06 and best reply for War memorial Dave Brown 21-04. Second placed Manley were also travelling to take on Overton and ran out the winners 136-151, Manley’s Mike Price best winner on the night 21-11. Third placed Subscription took on a weakened Grapes C and ran out the winners 159-88, Bill Whitby 21-07n led the way for Sub’s and best reply for Grapes Tim McLaughlin 21-12

Best win in section two Neil Scott (Norton Arms B) 21-01.

Despite not playing last week Rock Park and Pavilions D managed to hold on to first and second places in section three but Frodsham Con’s made up a lot of ground on the leaders with a 159-117 victory over Goshawk, Mike Garner 21-09 led the way for the Con’s and best reply for Goshawk Marjorie Shield 21-14. Fourth placed Halton RBL B travelled to take on Helsby D and came away with a 123-139 victory, Mike Ellison led the way for Halton with a fine 21-06 and Peter Hollitt 21-07 best reply for Helsby Mike Clarke 21-08.

Best win in section three John Coats (Crowton ) 21-02.

Best win overall last week Neil Scott 21-01 well done Neil keep up the fine work.