The Dudley & District Bowling League 2018

Dudley League Copper Trophy Mens Doubles  2018

Final - Friday 29th June 2018 - Venue  - Coombs Wood

Start Time 7 pm


Quarter Final

Craig Skidmore & Craig Cartwright (Cradley Sports/Dudley Dell) 13 v 18 Richard Bate & Richard Bullock (Hilly House)

Adam Deakin & Chris Clewer (Old Cross) 16 v 18 Tom Skidmore & Cian Danter (Cradley Sports)

Darren Fielding & Jack Bayliss (Old Cross) walk over v Dan Davies & Jamie Wyatt (Woodman MP)

Jamie Wyer & Simon Homer (Dudley Dell) walk over v Andy Poole & Martin Danter  (Cradley Sports)


Semi Final:

Bate & Bullock 18  11 Skidmore & Danter

Fielding & Bayliss 14 18  Wyre & Homer



Bate & Bullock 10  21  Wyre & Homer 


Jamie Wyre and Simon Homer retained the Dudley Mens Doubles title with a convincing final victory over the Hilly House pairing of Richard Bate & Richard Bullock on a very warm night at Coombs Wood, to whom thanks go for hosting the final and providing a very tricky green that caught many players out.  It was disappointing to have just 6 pairs attend the final which meant two byes through to the next round.  However this didn't detract from some excellent games.  

Jamie & Simon looked convincing in their semi-final at 16-7 up but the Old Cross pairing of Fielding & Bayliss started to find some bowls and came back to 16-14 and started to put some pressure on.  However, Simon found a great last bowl to win the end which secured victory.

In the other semi, the Cradley pairing of Tom Skidmore and Cian Danter went down early doors by 6-1 and then 15-6 and despite a mini comeback they couldn't find a way to beat the excellent leads of Richard Bate, ably supported by Richard Bullock.

The Final started with a bang when on just the second end Wyer & Homer scored a four shot, but Bate and Bullock came back with a three the end after, although after that it was pretty much one way traffic with 13 shots scored by the Dudley Dell pair to just 1 in reply.  At just after 10.15pm they secured the wining bowl at this years Final.


Chris Lambert, Competition Secretary