Burton & District Ladies Crown Green County Bowling Association 2018

Chairperson Secretary Treasurer Web Administrator
Mrs Jeanette Bennett Mrs Barbara Lowe Mrs Yvonne Sweet Mrs Marie Worthington
Mobile: 07546 420214  Mobile: 07834 691 357 Mobile: 07904 994405 Mobile: 07429 086704

The Ladies County Association was founded in 1969 by the members of three County Associations, Warwickshire, Staffordshire and Shropshire and was known as Midland Counties Ladies Association.


Bill and Violet Bates with Betty Royle and Sheila Townsend were the main instigators to form a Ladies County Association in this area. They went to watch a County match at Fenton Park, Stoke on Trent and decided that they would like to join and that is how Burton & District Ladies County Association was founded in 1979.


From 1979 to 1981 the County consisted of five teams Burton & District, Warwickshire, Staffordshire, Shropshire and Whitchurch with 12 players in each team and was played on a Home and Away basis making a total of 8 games during the season.


In 1981 the County was split into 2 divisions bringing the games played down to 4, Burton & District lost by 3 points to Shropshire in the Champion of Champions final.


In 1986, due to other Counties outside the Midlands joining the Association it was decided to change the title to British Counties Ladies Crown Green Bowling Association, since that time the title has been changed and is known now as BRITISH CROWN GREEN LADIES BOWLING ASSOCIATION.


Also in 1986 Burton & District lost to Staffordshire in the Champion of Champions final by 2 shots.


In 1989 Burton & District lost to Lancashire in the Champion of Champions final by 67 shots.


Burton & District have been in the semi final play off in 1987, 1990, 1993, 1995, 2000, 2005 and 2010 but unfortunately didn't qualify for the final.


The County Association now consists of 21 Counties split into 4 divisions, games are played on a Home and Away basis with 24 players split into two teams of 12.


At the end of the season the runners up of each division go on to play for the Mavis Dearden Trophy, the winners of each division play each other and the runners up play for the Waterloo Cup and the winners play for the Championship Trophy.


Burton & District Ladies County Association won the Championship in 1984 beating Staffordshire by 97 shots, and the crowning achievement was when they successfully won the Championship in 2001, which was held at The Waterloo in Blackpool beating Staffordshire in the final by 37 shots. They have also won the Waterloo Cup in 2002 and 2007.


The B.C.G.L.B.A. also run an annual veterans county championship in June and it consists of 16 teams playing down to a winner. This championship was first held in 2000 where Burton & District beat Staffordshire in the final by 14 shots.


Written by Barbara Lowe, Chairlady, March 2015